Stone Temple Pilots

From 21 June 2019 to30 June 2019

Stone Temple Pilots

Stone Temple Pilots (formed in 1985) is an American grunge, psychedelic and alternative rock band from San Diego, California, U.S.

Stone Temple Pilots, formerly known as Swing and Mighty Joe Young, was originally formed of frontman Scott Weiland, bassist Robert DeLeo, drummer Eric Kretz and guitarist Dean DeLeo. As Mighty Joe Young the band recorded and released a demo in 1990, many of which tracks featured on the band’s debut LP. After developing a fan base by playing regularly in the San Diego area they were informed the name Mighty Joe Young had already been claimed and thus came Stone Temple Pilots.

The band signed with Atlantic Records in 1992, the same year Stone Temple Pilots released their debut album “Core” which peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200. The album claimed significant commercial success, however the band were seen by the critical press as grunge imitators, copying the revered band such as Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains.

Stone Temple Pilots debuted the song “Big Empty” on an episode on MTV Unplugged in 1993 in anticipation of their sophomore album “Purple” in June 1994. Selling over three million copies in just four months, “Purple” was led by the hits “Vasoline” and “Interstate Love Song”.

Taking a more glam rock, psychedelic rock direction Stone Temple Pilots’ third studio album “Tiny Music… Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop” was recorded at a rented mansion in Santa Barbara, California, U.S. The album was a favourite of the band’s among critics although it failed to hold such popular commercial appeal as its predecessors. After the release Weiland, who had previously struggled with a heroin addiction, relapsed and the band cancelled their tour and support lot on Kiss’ reunion tour.

The band without Weiland under the moniker Talk Show released one eponymously titled album in 1997 before calling it a day. A year later frontman Weiland released his debut solo album “12 Bar Blues” in 1998 to moderate critical acclaim. The same year Stone Temple Pilots reunited and began work on “Shangri-La Dee Da” which got its release in the summer of 2001, although with a lack of label promotion the album was a commercial disappointment.

In 2003 label Atlantic Records pushed a greatest hits album, and frontman Weiland formed the successful supergroup Velvet Revolver with Guns N’ Roses members Slash, Matt Sorum and Duff McKagan and former Wasted Youth guitarist Dave Kushner. After releasing two album “Contraband” in 2004 and “Libertad” in 2007, Weiland left the group.

Stone Temple Pilots’ members reconciled with one another at a private beach party they were asked to play which led to the announcement of a 65-date North American tour and an appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live! Shortly after in 2008 Weiland released his sophomore solo album ““Happy” in Galoshes” and the Stone Temple Pilots release a self-titled sixth studio album on May 25, 2010.

In 2013 it was announced Weiland had been fired from the group and his official replacement Chester Bennington of Linkin Park. Stone Temple Pilot’s include Bennington release the single “Out of Time” in May 2013.

Friday 21 June 2019 – Sunday 23 June 2019
Stone Temple Pilots
Hellfest 2019
Clisson, France

Tuesday 25 June 2019
Stone Temple Pilots
Live Music Hall, Cologne, Germany

Wednesday 26 June 2019
Stone Temple Pilots
Batschkapp, Frankfurt, Germany

Thursday 27 June 2019
Stone Temple Pilots
Konzertfabrik Z7, Pratteln, Switzerland

Friday 28 June 2019 – Sunday 30 June 2019
Stone Temple Pilots
Download Festival Madrid 2019
Caja Mágica, Madrid, Spain

January 23, 2019 in