Mystery Jets

From 13 June 2019to26 July 2019

Mystery Jets

Mystery Jets (formed in 2004) is an English alternative and indie-rock band, best known for their second full-length album “Twenty One”, hailing from Eel Pie Island, Twickenham, London, England.

Originally formed of 12 year old drummer Blaine Harrison, guitarist William Rees, and Blaine’s father Henry Harrison on bass, the group underwent a series of lineup alterations prior to their musical debut. Following the arrival of Kai Fish on bass and Tamara Pearce-Higgins on the organ, Henry Harrison became the second guitarist and the band settled on the moniker The Misery Jets. Prior to the band’s debut EP Blaine misspelled Misery Jets “Mystery Jets” on his drum skin and pleased with the result the band kept it.

Having practiced in Henry’s Eel Pie Island boat shed, the band began practicing steadily with Blaine assuming the role of lead singer. Influenced by the melodies of Hall and Oates and experimentalism of Pink Floyd, Mystery Jets released their eponymous debut EP in 2004. Produced by Bishop Dante, the group’s subsequent EP the “Eel Pie Island” was issued later in 2004, following which the band began to develop new material and tightness on a modest UK tour. Mystery Jet’s first official single “Zoo Time” was released on up-and-coming label Transgressive Records, after which the band hosted a series of illegal parties. Due to this exposure the group were subsequently signed by 697 Recordings, who issued the single “The Boy Who Ran Away”.

Mystery Jets’ debut studio album “Making Dens” was released in March 2006, extolled by many, aided by the singlex “You Can’t Fool Me Dennis”, “Diamonds in the Dark”, and “Alas Agnes”. Following the release the band hosted a tribute show to Syd Barrett, featuring artists Kid Harpoon, Kate Nash, and Dan Treacy among others, and embarked on their first worldwide tour. In May 2007, the band released the U.S. only album “Zootime”, which was almost entirely made up of songs from their debut “Making Dens”.

Ahead of their sophomore album “Twenty One”, Mystery Jets released the single “Young Love” featuring indie-darling Laura Marling. The album’s second single was the seductively groovy “Two Doors Down”, which reached No. 24 on the UK Singles Chart. “Twenty One”, produced by Erol Alkan and Nick Launay, earned widespread critically acclaim, peaking at No. 42 on the UK Albums chart. Following the release the band moved away from 679 Recording and signed with the established independent Rough Trade Records. With new label backing Mystery Jets issued their third studio album “Serotonin” in 2011 lead by the singles “Flash a Hungry Smile” and “Dreaming of Another World”. The band’s fourth LP 2012’s “Radlands”, was recorded in a home studio by the Colorado River of Texas, and was supported by extensive international touring.

13 – 16 June 2019
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds & George Ezra – Isle of Wight Festival 2019 – Weekend
Seaclose Park, Newport/Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Best selling event in Newport/Isle Of Wight

Sunday, 16 June 2019
Biffy Clyro – Isle of Wight Festival 2019 – Sunday
Seaclose Park, Newport/Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom

Sunday, 14 July 2019
George Ezra & Snow Patrol – TRNSMT Festival 2019 – Sunday
Glasgow Green, Glasgow, United Kingdom

26 – 28 July 2019
Courteeners & Doves – Kendal Calling 2019 – 3 Day
Lowther Deer Park, Hackthorpe, United Kingdom

May 30, 2019 in